Donate securely now to support GI research

My Cart | Register | Sign In

Header Image

IFFGD Research Awards

2013 IFFGD Research Awards

The recipients of the 2013 Research Awards were announced on April 12, 2013 Go »

IFFGD began making Research Awards in 2003 (and Research Grants in 2007). The IFFGD Research Award recipients are determined by a Selection Committee comprised of internationally recognized experts in the field. The awards are presented to active investigators who are striving to broaden the medical community's understanding of functional gastrointestinal or motility disorders while laying the foundation for more and better treatment options for patients.

These awards are intended to encourage the participation of clinicians and scientists in multidisciplinary efforts aimed at advancing the understanding of functional gastrointestinal and motility disorders in adults and in children.

To be eligible, the investigators must have completed an MD or PhD, have demonstrated research activities, and be currently active in investigating basic or clinical aspects of functional GI or motility disorders.

We presented our first IFFGD Research Awards at the 2003 International Symposium on Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders. We were honored that Allen Spiegel MD, Director of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) was there to make the presentations along with Nancy Norton and Douglas Drossman, MD and gratified by the interest generated by our research initiative.

Subsequently, we have presented multiple awards every 2 years in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, and 2013.

Last modified on August 29, 2013 at 03:30:27 PM